Forbes: Hear Her Corner CEO’s Advice To Help Women Entrepreneurs Thrive

By Anushay Hossain

forbes-blog

With 11.3 million women-owned businesses in the United States currently employing nearly 9 million people, and generating over $1.6 trillion in revenues, the state of women’s entrepreneurshipin America is looking quite bright.

But although the number of women joining the startup world is growing, and expected to increase, what can women business-owners do to make their companies grow and succeed?

That is the question Frédérique (Fred) Irwin, CEO and Founder of Her Corner, an online platform for women business owners, is determined to help women answer.

“I was angry when I found out that 88 percent of women business owners don’t make more than $100,000 in gross revenue a year,” Irwin said. “I was really mad because every single woman I’d ever met who owned her own business wanted to make more money, but she didn’t always know how.”

And that is where Irwin and her team at Her Corner come in.

I spoke with Irwin about how she gives women the springboard they need, and why she wants women-owned businesses to thrive.

Anushay Hossain: What is Her Corner and why did you start it?

Fred Irwin: Her Corner is a digital and in-person global community of women business owners committed to helping women grow their businesses.

It is the only online business resource that offers collaboration with fellow business owners, online educational programs, in-person peer groups, business accelerators, original business advice from prominent experts, and resources to help fund women’s businesses. We believe women can grow their businesses through the power of collective intelligence.

I started it because despite my business background I was still struggling to find other women, like me, who “got” what I was going through.

I was looking to find women with whom I could talk about business (share resources, compare notes, collect advice,) while also knowing that they weren’t judging me if I had to schedule a meeting around a pickup time for school.

We were similarly ambitious and motivated, but also living a similarly hectic life – and that was ok. Those were the women I was looking to collaborate with.

Click here to read full article.

Leave a Reply

